The Hammer and the Blade: An Egil & Nix Novel (Mass Market)

The Hammer and the Blade: An Egil & Nix Novel Cover Image
$7.99
Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days

Description


For readers of Brent Weeks, Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch comes the first book in a fantastic, hilarious new sword-and-sorcery series that puts a clever new twist on the golden age of epic fantasy.

Robbing tombs for fun and profit might not be a stable career, but Egil and Nix aren’t in it for the long-term prospects. Egil is the hammer-wielding warrior-priest of a discredited god. Nix is a roguish thief with just enough knowledge of magic to conjure up trouble. Together, they seek riches and renown, yet often find themselves enlisted in lost causes—generally against their will.

So why should their big score be any different? The trouble starts when Nix and Egil kill the demonic guardian of a long-lost crypt, nullifying an ancient pact made by the ancestors of an obscenely powerful wizard. Now the wizard will stop at nothing to keep that power from slipping away, even if it means freeing a rapacious beast from its centuries-old prison. And who better than Egil and Nix—the ones responsible for his current predicament—to perform this thankless task?

Praise for The Hammer and the Blade and Paul S. Kemp

“A gripping tale [with] the feeling of a classic Dungeons & Dragons campaign.”Publishers Weekly

“Most heroes work up to killing demons. Egil and Nix start there and pick up the pace.”—Elaine Cunningham, author of the Thorn Trilogy

“Kemp delivers sword and sorcery at its rollicking best, after the fashion of Fritz Leiber’s Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser.”Library Journal

About the Author


Paul S. Kemp is the New York Times bestselling author of the Egil and Nix novels (The Hammer and the Blade, A Discourse in Steel, and the upcoming A Conversation in Blood), Star Wars: Crosscurrent, Star Wars: The Old Republic: Deceived, and Star Wars: Riptide, as well as nine Forgotten Realms fantasy novels and many short stories. He lives and works in Grosse Pointe, Michigan, with his wife, children, and a couple of cats.

Praise For…


Praise for The Hammer and the Blade and Paul S. Kemp

“A gripping tale [with] the feeling of a classic Dungeons & Dragons campaign.”Publishers Weekly

“Most heroes work up to killing demons. Egil and Nix start there and pick up the pace.”—Elaine Cunningham, author of the Thorn Trilogy

“Kemp delivers sword and sorcery at its rollicking best, after the fashion of Fritz Leiber’s Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser.”Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781101964958
ISBN-10: 1101964952
Publisher: Del Rey
Publication Date: September 1st, 2015
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Egil & Nix