City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology (Hardcover)

City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology By Lawrence Ferlinghetti (Editor) Cover Image
By Lawrence Ferlinghetti (Editor)
Unavailable at this time.


"Printer's ink is the greater explosive."--Lawrence Ferlinghetti

Lawrence Ferlinghetti founded the City Lights publishing house sixty years ago in 1955, launching the press with his now legendary Pocket Poets Series. First in the series was Pictures of the Gone World--and within a year, he had brought out two more volumes, translations by Kenneth Rexroth and then, poems by Kenneth Patchen. But it was the success and scandal of Number Four, Howl & Other Poems by Allen Ginsberg (1956), that put City Lights on the map, positioning the Pocket Poets Series at the forefront of the literary counterculture.

A landmark sixtieth retrospective celebrating 60 years of publishing and cultural history, this edition provides an invaluable distillation of the energetic, iconoclastic and still fresh body of work represented in the ongoing series. Ferlinghetti has selected a handful of poems from each of the sixty volumes, including the work of Ginsberg, Kerouac, Corso, Pasolini, Voznesensky, Pr vert, Mayakovsky, Cort zar, O'Hara, Ponsot, Levertov, di Prima, Duncan, Lamantia, Lowry, and more, all of the Pocket Poets Series' innovative, influential, and often ground-breaking American and international poets.

About the Author

Lawrence Ferlinghetti, poet and founder of City Lights Booksellers and Publishers, is the author of A Coney Island of the Mind and Pictures of the Gone World, among numerous other books, and the publisher of the famed Pocket Poets Series, among many other titles at his City Lights press.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780872866799
ISBN-10: 0872866793
Publisher: City Lights Books
Publication Date: June 30th, 2015
Pages: 306
Language: English
Series: City Lights Pocket Poets