Black Moon (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Black Moon Cover Image
$15.00
On our shelves now:
Ravenna
1 on hand, as of Jan 23 12:45pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


This book left me unsettled and I like that in a book. Scenes from this tale still haunt my waking hours as well as my dreams. The vision of a society without sleep, hallucinating and confused, and having it in for those who can still sleep, is nightmarish and even apocalyptic. At times the story seems disjointed, but that only adds to the feel of jittery edginess that accompanies this tale of insomnia.

— From Mark B.

Description


For fans of "The Age of Miracles" and "The Dog Stars," "Black Moon" is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls Gripping and expertly constructed.
Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows. Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world. Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her.
He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness. Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend. All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can t buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had.
Kenneth Calhoun has written a brilliantly realized and utterly riveting depiction of a world gripped by madness, one that is vivid, strange, and profoundly moving.

"From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author


KENNETH CALHOUN has had stories published in "The Paris Review, Tin House," and the "2011 Pen/O. Henry Prize Collection," among others. He lives in Boston, where he is a graphic design professor at Lasell College. "Black Moon" is his first novel. "From the Hardcover edition."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780804137164
ISBN-10: 0804137161
Publisher: Hogarth Press
Publication Date: January 20th, 2015
Pages: 288
Language: English