The Best American Travel Writing 2009 (The Best American Series ®) (Paperback)

The Best American Travel Writing 2009 (The Best American Series ®) Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days


Acclaimed writer Simon Winchester brings his keen literary eye to this year's volume of the finest travel writing from the past year. "Full of insights, humor, the exotic and distant, and the ordinary and near" (Library Journal) this collection finds  "a perfect mix of exotic locale and elegant prose" (Publishers Weekly).

About the Author

JASON WILSON, series editor, is the author of Godforsaken Grapes, Boozehound, and The Cider Revival. He is the creator of the newsletter and podcast Everyday Drinking. Wilson has been the series editor of The Best American Travel Writing since its inception in 2000. His work can be found at

Simon Winchester's many books include The Professor and the Madman, The Map That Changed the World, Krakatoa, and A Crack in the Edge of the World. Each of these has been a New York Times bestseller and has appeared on numerous best and notable lists. Mr. Winchester was made Officer of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth in 2006.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780618858668
ISBN-10: 0618858660
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: October 8th, 2009
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: The Best American Series ®