Chlorine Sky (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of Oct 23 6:33am
(YA-FICTION)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of Oct 23 4:33am
(YA-FICTION)
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of Oct 23 6:43am
(YA-FICTION)

Staff Reviews


I'm a sucker for a novel in verse! For fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jacqueline Woodson, Mahogany L. Browne writes the story of a teenage girl just trying to play basketball without getting too cold in her best friend's shadow. Her words bite but her voice is delicate, letting me relish in that dichotomy of girlhood. Chlorine Sky feels like the chemicals from the community pool and the sun setting orange, your fingers are pruny but it's just so beautiful. Five more minutes

— From Emily

Description


A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

About the Author


Mahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.

Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.

Praise For…


"A profound reminder that sometimes the most revolutionary thing a girl can be is herself. I couldn't put it down." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"A story about heart and backbone, and one only Mahogany L. Browne could bring forth." —Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

"Browne’s searing and poignant writing will undoubtedly bring readers back to her stories again and again." —Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

"A searing voice that commands attention." —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of the Belles series

"Chlorine Sky is a vivid literary balm that animates the English language with rhythm, heart, and radical truth telling love." Aja Monet, Nuyorican Poets Café Grand Slam Champion

"A remarkable, compelling voice." —The Bulletin, Starred Review 

"A coming-of-age novel for Black girls
who have been told they’re too much and yet never enough." Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593176399
ISBN-10: 0593176391
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 12th, 2021
Pages: 192
Language: English