The Runes of the Earth: The Last Chronicles of Thomas Convenant (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Runes of the Earth: The Last Chronicles of Thomas Convenant Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days

Staff Reviews

This is just what Thomas Covenant fans were waiting for. Returning to the Land after 21 years, Donaldson marshals many unique elements of the previous 6 novels and revisits questions raised by those books. Whatever became of the Ramen and the Ranyhyu, the ur-viles of Waynhim? What was made of the Staff of Law after Covenant died and Lindon Avery left the Land? A great kick-off to the new four-part series!

— From Adam


More than twenty years ago, Stephen R. Donaldson set a literary landmark with the first fantasy bestseller. His New York Times bestselling series, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, transformed modern fantasy. Now, at long last, Donaldson introduces the first novel of the much-awaited, four-volume finale to the series that's sold more than ten million copies.

Thomas Covenant lost everything. Abandoned by his wife and child, sick and alone, he was transported while unconscious to a magical, dreamlike world called the Land. Convinced it was all a delusion, Covenant was christened The Unbeliever by the Land's inhabitants-but gave his life to save this newfound world he came to regard as precious.

Ten years after Covenant's death, Linden Avery still mourns for her beloved companion. But a violent confrontation with Covenant's son- who is doing the evil Lord Foul's bidding-forces her back to the Land, where a dark malevolence is about to unmake the laws of nature-and of life and death itself.

About the Author

Stephen R. Donaldson is the author of the The Great God's War Trilogy and the original six volumes of The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, a landmark in modern fantasy. Every volume, beginning with Lord Foul's Bane in 1977, has been an international bestseller. Donaldson returned to the series with The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, comprising The Runes of the Earth, Fatal Revenant, Against All Things Ending, and The Last Dark. Donaldson lives in New Mexico.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780441013043
ISBN-10: 044101304X
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: August 30th, 2005
Pages: 532
Language: English
Series: Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant