The Americans: The Democratic Experience (Americans Series #3) (Paperback)

The Americans: The Democratic Experience (Americans Series #3) By Daniel J. Boorstin Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Americans Series series.


Winner of the Pulitzer Prize. A study of the last 100 years of American history.

About the Author

Daniel J. Boorstin was the author of The Americans, a trilogy (The Colonial Experience, The National Experience, and The Democratic Experience) that won the Francis Parkman Prize, the Bancroft Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize. In 1989, he received the National Book Award for lifetime contribution to literature. He was the director of the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, and for twelve years served as the Librarian of Congress. He died in 2004.

Praise For…

"Mr. Boorstin tells the story of the invention of a new democratic culture and the reorientation of the national character through countless little revolutions in economy, technology, and social rearrangements ... Illuminated by reflections that are original, judicious and sagacious..." -- Henry Steele Commager

"A huge, fascinating omnibus of a book ... an exhilarating adventure that carries us along the highways and byways of a national history like no other."

-- John K. Hutchens Book-of-the-Month-Club News

"I have learned a great deal about the USA from Professor Boorstin's new book. He knows this country of ours as few historians know it ... I read his book with delight and gratitude."

-- Saul Bellow

Product Details
ISBN: 9780394710112
ISBN-10: 0394710118
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: July 12th, 1974
Pages: 736
Language: English
Series: Americans Series