Arsène Lupin, Gentleman-Thief: Inspiration for the Major Streaming Series (Paperback)

Arsène Lupin, Gentleman-Thief: Inspiration for the Major Streaming Series By Maurice Leblanc, Michael Sims (Introduction by), Michael Sims (Notes by) Cover Image
By Maurice Leblanc, Michael Sims (Introduction by), Michael Sims (Notes by)
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of May 17 2:35pm


The inspiration for the Netflix series, Lupin, starring Omar Sy

A curated collection of the very best adventures of Arsène Lupin, France’s most famous gentleman thief

The poor and the innocent have nothing to fear from Lupin; often they profit from his spontaneous generosity. The rich and powerful, and the detective who tries to spoil his fun, however, must beware. They are the target of Lupin’s mischief. With plans that frequently evolve into elaborate plots, Lupin is a gentleman burglar turned detective, and the most entertaining criminal genius in literature.
These stories – the best of the Lupin series, including “The Queen’s Necklace” and “Arsène Lupin in Prison”–  are outrageous and witty, for the full enjoyment of those who love masters of disguise, extraordinary heists, and the panache found with Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, Ocean’s Eleven and Lupin.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

Maurice Leblanc was born in Rouen, France in 1864. He began his writing career with realistic works in the manner of his hereoes Flaubert and Maupassant, producing such novels as La Femme in 1887. He is remembered today, however, for his dozens of inventive and amusing stories an novels about the masterful thief Arsène Lupin, a burgular and confidence man who eventually also becomes a detective. Leblanc created Lupin in 1905 for a series requested by a magazine editor. There were five collections of Lupin stories: Arsène Lupin, Gentleman-Burglar (1906), Arsène Lupin versus Sherlock Holmes (1908), The Confessions of Arsène Lupin (1912), The Eight Strokes of the Clock (1922), and Arsène Lupin Intervenes (1928).

Michael Sims
has edited two other collections for Penguin Classics: The Annotated Archy and Mehitable and Arsene Lupin, Gentleman-Thief. His research for the latter inspired The Penguin Book of Gaslight Crime. His writing has appeared in New Statesman, Gourmet, Orion, the Washington Post, and many other periodicals in the United States and abroad.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780143104865
ISBN-10: 0143104861
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: March 27th, 2007
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Penguin Classics