The Forbidden Library (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Forbidden Library Cover Image
$8.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
1 on hand, as of Aug 18 10:45am
(CH-MIDDLE)
Ravenna
4 on hand, as of Aug 18 10:45am
(CH-MIDDLE)
Seward Park
1 on hand, as of Aug 18 10:30am
(CH-MIDDLE)

Staff Reviews


This is one of my favorite books! It's creepy and exciting with a protagonist you can't help but get behind. Alice's father goes missing and finds herself in the care of an older guardian. She discovers an amazing labyrinthine library on his property. While exploring it's strange and moving stacks she finds that she can read herself into books! The adventure that ensues will have you gripping your seat and turning pages as fast as you can. Luckily there are two more in the series out already and you are going to want all three!

— From Patti H.

Description


The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere!

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That—along with everything else—changed the day she met her first fairy.


When Alice's father disappears in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon—an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And, even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems Uncle Geryon is more than he says he is. But then, so is Alice.

About the Author


Django Wexler (www.djangowexler.com) is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci-fi geek and fulltime fantasy writer. Django’s first book, an epic fantasy novel for adults, was published by Roc in Summer 2013. The Forbidden Library is his first novel for children.

Praise For…


Praise for The Forbidden Library:

"Vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland and Inkheart all rolled into one, it’s good fun... Working in the grand tradition of children’s fantasy, Wexler’s off to a promising start."—Kirkus Reviews

"By giving the richly textured literary adventures “teeth” and by placing subplots both inside and outside the books, Wexler dexterously avoids the “it’s only a story” pitfall that might distance readers from the action, while the wondrous Library will gratify book lovers and fantasy experts alike."—Horn Book

"Fans of Harry Potter and Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (2003) will relish that the library houses magical books . . . It's a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine, matching wits with snarky cats, dangerous beasts, and a certain smug boy. This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author."—Booklist

"Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780142426814
ISBN-10: 0142426814
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: March 17th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Forbidden Library