The Blueprint: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Blueprint: A Novel By Rae Giana Rashad Cover Image
$30.00
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
8 on hand, as of May 17 2:35pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
4 on hand, as of May 17 2:45pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of May 17 2:45pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Description


The Blueprint is an astounding work, an unflinching portrait of misogyny and racism in a speculative world terrifyingly close to our own. Rae Giana Rashad chronicles the generational ghosts of womanhood, and how we understand ourselves through the stories of those we come from, in a way I’ve never read before. A remarkable new talent, and a timeless literary voice.”—Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

 In the vein of Octavia E. Butler and Margaret Atwood, a harrowing novel set in an alternate United States—a world of injustice and bondage in which a young Black woman becomes the concubine of a powerful white government official and must face the dangerous consequences.

Solenne Bonet lives in Texas where choice no longer exists. An algorithm determines a Black woman’s occupation, spouse, and residence. Solenne finds solace in penning the biography of Henriette, an ancestor who’d been an enslaved concubine to a wealthy planter in 1800s Louisiana. But history repeats itself when Solenne, lonely and naïve, finds herself entangled with Bastien Martin, a high-ranking government official. Solenne finds the psychological bond unbearable, so she considers alternatives. With Henriette as her guide, she must decide whether and how to leave behind all she knows.  

Inspired by the lives of enslaved concubines to U.S. politicians and planters, The Blueprint unfolds over dual timelines to explore bodily autonomy, hypocrisy, and power imbalances through the lens of the nation’s most unprotected: a Black girl.

About the Author


Rae Giana Rashad holds an M.Ed in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Texas at Arlington. Born and raised in Texas with roots in Louisiana, her writing is infused with southern influences and Black history. She lives in the Dallas area with her husband and three children.

Praise For…


"Ambitious in its themes." — New York Times Book Review

"The Blueprint is an astounding work, an unflinching portrait of misogyny and racism in a speculative world terrifyingly close to our own. Rae Giana Rashad chronicles the generational ghosts of womanhood, and how we understand ourselves through the stories of those we come from, in a way I’ve never read before. A remarkable new talent, and a timeless literary voice." — Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

"A book in an intense, boundary-pushing conversation with The Handmaid’s Tale . . . . Inventive, ferocious, and laser-focused, The Blueprint promises to skewer the hypocrisies that already punctuate our reality." — Elle

“A consuming debut . . . a provocative and worthy mash-up of historical and speculative fiction.” — Publishers Weekly

"Rashad’s fantastic debut evokes familiar history, such as Sally Hemings’ forced relationship with Thomas Jefferson, yet is also wholly new, weaving together vividly imagined characters in Solenne and Henriette and deftly moving through multiple time periods while capturing Solenne’s haunted yet strong voice . . . . Horrifying, captivating, and full of urgency." — Kirkus Reviews

"Masterful . . . . Filled with themes such as regret, rebellion, tyranny, and courage, The Blueprint is a compelling read." — Christian Science Monitor

"This one held me captive for two days." — LaToya Watkins, National Book Award nominee for Holler, Child

"This novel explores race, free will, and what it means to be a woman, using speculative fiction in the grand tradition of Octavia Butler." — Booklist

"Provocative . . . Rashad is terrific at characterization — we feel deeply Solenne's confusion, pain and hope. As she ponders her mother's words and tries to take control of her own life, she springs to vivid life." — The Star Tribune



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063330092
ISBN-10: 0063330091
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English