Cece Rios and the Queen of Brujas (Hardcover)

Cece Rios and the Queen of Brujas By Kaela Rivera Cover Image
$19.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
3 on hand, as of May 18 2:35pm
(CH-MIDDLE)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of May 18 2:50pm
(CH-MIDDLE)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Cece Rios series.

Description


This stunning conclusion to the Cece Rios trilogy is perfect for fans of J. C. Cervantes and Kwame Mbalia!

Cece Rios and her friends have escaped Devil’s Alley, but the fight to save their world is just beginning.

Despite her growing comfort with her curandera abilities, Cece is worried that she won’t be strong enough to stop her most dangerous enemy yet: her tía, Catrina. Desperate for power and revenge, Catrina has seized the throne of Devil’s Alley and set her sights on the living world.

Catrina’s first move is a brutal attack on the Sun Sanctuary that leaves Tierra del Sol reeling. And no matter how hard they try, Cece and her friends are always one step behind the bruja queen as she seeks to attain the powers of the gods and take control of the four elements.

Cece Rios saved her sister. She rebuilt her familia. But can she take down her vicious tía before Catrina destroys everything Cece has fought so hard to protect? 

About the Author


Kaela Rivera was raised to believe in will-o’-the-wisps and el chupacabra, but even scary stories couldn’t stop her from reading in the isolated treetops, caves, and creeks of Tennessee’s Appalachian forests.

She still believes in the folktales of her Mexican-American and British parents, but now she writes about them from the adventure-filled mountains of the Wild West. When she’s not crafting stories, she’s using her English degree from BYU-I as an editor for a marketing company (or secretly doodling her characters in the margins of her notebook).

Her biggest hope is to highlight and explore the beauty of cultural differences—and how sharing those differences can bring us all closer.

Praise For…


"Aside from her ability to control water, Cece’s greatest power is her empathetic, probing heart, which enables her to spread her light in even the worst situations.... A sweet, beautifully written adventure." — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls: "Rivera’s spellbinding debut feels incredibly fresh. Enchanted readers will hope for more from Cece and her extraordinary, magical world." — Booklist (starred review)

"With strong ties to Mesoamerican lore and culture, the story hits the sweet spot between dark and light. Lively, endearing, and full of character." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Mesmerizing... With excellent pacing and rich world-building, debut author Rivera flawlessly immerses readers in the landscape of Tierra del Sol and Cece’s journey." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Intertwined with rich Mexican folklore and culturally infused language, this is a brilliantly unveiled coming-of-age story not for the faint of heart.... Courage, determination, and unwavering love are the foundation of this debut." — School Library Journal

"Packed with magic, adventure, friendship, and Latinx-inspired mythology... [Readers] will delight in exploring Cece’s world." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Rich world-building and enticing characterization strike hope for a sequel about the dauntless Cece." — Horn Book Magazine

"With distinct voices for the human and supernatural characters, Guerra’s narration enhances the magical realism of the mythological fantasy. Listeners will be cheering for the endearing heroine to prove herself and rescue her sister." — Booklist

"An astonishing and moving tale infused with spirit and unforgettable magic." — J.C. Cervantes, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Storm Runner series 

"Flush with incredible worldbuilding, mucho español throughout, and an unforgettable cast, this book reminds us that our greatest strengths can sometimes be found in the unlikeliest of places." — Pablo Cartaya, award-winning author of The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora  

"Pokemon meets Coco in a spirited and moving adventure, at once familiar and tantalizingly strange, peopled by beautifully crafted and vivid characters." — David Bowles, award-winning author of They Call Me Güero

“A new Narnia full of desert heat and danger, Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls mixes familiar myth, inventive magic, and vivid characters to capture readers.”  — Anna Meriano, author of the Love Sugar Magic series

“A beautifully written fantasy story with tons of heart!” — Ryan Calejo, author of the Charlie Hernández series



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063213968
ISBN-10: 0063213966
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 12th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Cece Rios