Unhappy Camper (Paperback)

Unhappy Camper By Lily LaMotte, Ann Xu (Illustrator), Sunmi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lily LaMotte, Ann Xu (Illustrator), Sunmi (Illustrator)
$15.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
21 on hand, as of May 24 10:35am
(CH-GRAPHICA)
Ravenna (order processing takes 24 hours)
4 on hand, as of May 24 8:45am
(CH-GRAPHICA)
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
3 on hand, as of May 24 8:45am
(CH-GRAPHICA)

Description


From the acclaimed creators of Measuring Up, author Lily LaMotte and illustrators Ann Xu and Sunmi, comes a graphic novel about two sisters—one who embraces her Taiwanese culture and one eager to do away with it—who rebuild their bond at a Taiwanese American summer camp. Perfect for fans of Be Prepared and Sisters, this is a heartwarming story about the importance of being true to yourself. 

Would you rather blend in or stand out? Claire and Michelle used to be best friends, but now the two sisters couldn’t be more different. Michelle will do anything to fit in, even if it means denying her Taiwanese culture, whereas Claire is proud of who she is. So much so that she decides to become a junior counselor at a Taiwanese American summer camp.  

Sensing a rift between the two, their parents decide to send them both off to camp, much to Michelle’s dismay. As summer continues, both sisters learn more about their culture and each other. But Michelle must eventually decide to either embrace her culture and family or assimilate into the popular group at school. Which will she choose? 

About the Author


Lily LaMotte graduated from Hamline’s Writing for Children and Young Adults program with an MFA. When she isn’t writing, she’s cooking up new recipes and supporting her library system as a KCLS Foundation board member. Measuring Up is her debut graphic novel. Visit her at www.lilylamotte.com.



Ann Xu is an Ignatz-nominated cartoonist and illustrator. She graduated from the Maryland Institute College of Art with a BFA in illustration. Visit Ann at www.annixu.com.

Praise For…


“Moments of humor captured through playful anime-like facial expressions and gestures propel the plot forward in whimsical fashion.” — Horn Book Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062973894
ISBN-10: 0062973894
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 208
Language: English