American Street (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
American Street Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
4 on hand, as of Feb 25 8:45am
(YA-FICTION)
Ravenna
1 on hand, as of Feb 25 8:45am
(YA-FICTION)
Seward Park
1 on hand, as of Feb 25 8:45am
(YA-FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Fabiola arrives in Detroit after her mother is detained on entry to the U.S. from Haiti. Fabiola knows that her new home with her aunt and teenage cousins will always feel empty without her mother, so she resolves to do everything in her power to get her mother released - even if that means confronting harsh truths about her Americanized aunt and cousins. Equal parts heart-wrenching and - warming, Zoboi's expertly woven novel will touch readers' souls and embolden their spirits. 

— From Niki

Description


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062473042
ISBN-10: 0062473042
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English