Sisters of Sword and Song (Hardcover)

Sisters of Sword and Song Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
2 on hand, as of Aug 13 1:01pm
(YA-FICTION)

Description


Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, delivers a thrilling new fantasy about the lengths two sisters will go for each other. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky In the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon unexpectedly appears a day early, Eva knows something is wrong. Halcyon has charged with a heinous crime, and though her life is spared, she is sentenced to 15 years.

Suspicious of the charges, brought forth by Halcyon’s army commander, as well as the details of the crime, Eva volunteers to take part of her sister’s sentence. If there’s a way to absolve Halcyon, she’ll find it. But as the sisters begin their sentences, they quickly learn that there are fates worse than death.

About the Author


Rebecca Ross is the author of The Queen’s Rising and its sequel, The Queen’s Resistance, as well as Sisters of Sword and Song. She lives in Northeast Georgia. Visit her at www.rebeccarossauthor.com or on Twitter @_RebeccaRoss.

Praise For…


"An exquisitely beautiful, heartfelt tale of magic, love, and family. Ross's masterful storytelling kept me enthralled from the very beginning to the perfectly rendered ending. And yet I find myself wanting more time with these fierce and inspiring pair of sisters."  
— Mindee Arnett, author of Onyx and Ivory

"Lyrical and limned with magic, Sisters of Sword and Song is a gorgeously crafted alchemy of gods, mages, and a lush world you will wish was real."
— Heather Lyons, author of The Collectors' Society

"A beautifully-crafted story of sacrifice, growth, and redemption, with the fierce bond between sisters at its heart." 
—  Elly Blake, New York Times bestselling author of the Frostblood Series

“I adored this magical story about the unbreakable bond between sisters.” 
— Kristen Ciccarelli, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara

Sisters of Sword and Song is an intimate portrait of sisterhood and the feminine spirit. Ross’s delicate prose paints strong, yet vulnerable characters in Evadne and Halcyon that will capture readers from the start.” 
— Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep

“Classical heroism in a magical antiquity makes for a fresh read.”
Kirkus Reviews

"An immersive new fantasy that readers will want to curl up with. Will fascinate and draw in both fantasy readers and mythology lovers alike. This lyrical novel will have an eager, built-in audience in fans of “The Queen’s Rising”  duology and will find new readers for Ross as well."
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Ross’ heroic epic is vividly inspired by ancient Greece, down to its poetic language…it revels in intricate plotting, political intrigue, and fascinating divinity-based magic.”
Booklist

“The story feels like a myth itself, with an emphasis on family dynamics and Herculean trials with some clever twists, including the innovative magic system...Fans of strong world building will appreciate Ross’ fond, meandering development, and fans of slow burn romances will likely swoon.” 
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062471413
ISBN-10: 0062471414
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 23rd, 2020
Pages: 480
Language: English