Third Place Books

Inside the Third Place Books store.

The Kind Mama by Alicia Silverstone

We are pleased to welcome Alicia Silverstone with her latest book The Kind Mama.  Books and Tickets go on-sale 4/15/14.  Signing line ticket required, receive your complimentary ticket with the purchase of The Kind Mama at Third Place Books.

Please check back for further details.

 

The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginn Cover Image
By Alicia Silverstone, Amy Neunsinger (Photographer)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781623360405
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Rodale Books - April 15th, 2014

When did making babies get to be so hard? Infertility is on the rise globally, affecting as many as one in six couples. But instead of considering diet and lifestyle factors, doctors pump their patients full of expensive and invasive fertility treatments.


Used Book Sale

Semiannual USED BOOK SALE!

40% off all used books

At all three Third Place Books locations:

  • Lake Forest Park
  • Ravenna
  • Seward Park

Third Place Book Club - Too Much and Not the Mood: Essays by Durga Chew-Bose

From one of Canada's most distinctive and intelligent emerging voices, a heartfelt collection of essays in Durga Chew-Bose's captivating and truly inimitable style. In Too Much and Not the Mood, Durga Chew-Bose flings us headlong into her most intimate philosophical, and occasionally brooding, thoughts. The result is a lyrical and piercingly insightful collection of essays and her own brand of essay-meets-prose poetry about identity and culture.

Too Much and Not the Mood: Essays Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374535957
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Fsg Originals - April 11th, 2017

An entirely original portrait of a young writer shutting out the din in order to find her own voice


Langdon Cook - Upstream

From the award-winning author of The Mushroom Hunters comes the story of an iconic fish, perhaps the last great wild food: salmon.

Upstream: Searching for Wild Salmon, from River to Table Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781101882887
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 30th, 2017

From the award-winning author of The Mushroom Hunters comes the story of an iconic fish, perhaps the last great wild food: salmon.


The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345536259
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ballantine Books - September 10th, 2013

In the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky's Cod a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world's most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature's last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom.


Fat of the Land: Adventures of a 21st Century Forager Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781594850868
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Skipstone Press - March 2011

Dave Boling - The Lost History of Stars

From a forgotten moment in history comes an inspiring novel about finding strength and courage in the most unimaginable places.

The Lost History of Stars Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616204174
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Algonquin Books - June 6th, 2017

From a forgotten moment in history comes an inspiring novel about finding strength and courage in the most unimaginable places.


Guernica Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781596916371
Availability: May not be available. Please call (206) 366-3333 for info.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - September 1st, 2009

"Boling threads his way through the stories of his many characters with humor, compassion and rich details of Basque tradition Moving." "Washington Post Book World "
""


David Romtvedt - Dilemmas of the Angels

In the series of poems that underpins this collection, David Romtvedt imagines the daily lives of angels as well as other, more earthly, concerns. Whether he is considering the work of raising a child or imagining the work of the divine, Romtvedt displays an appreciation for all that surrounds us. His poems explore features of the Western world while offering accounts of life in Nicaragua, Rwanda, and the Congo. Throughout the collection, he displays an awareness of our remarkably diverse and intrinsically connected planet.

Dilemmas of the Angels: Poems Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807165805
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Louisiana State University Press - February 2017

Laurie Frankel in conversation with Garth Stein

Join us for an evening with local authors Laurie Frankel and Garth Stein discussing Frankel’s new book This Is How It Always Is.

This Is How It Always Is is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it’s about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again; parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts; children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don’t get to keep them forever. 

Staff Pick Logo
This Is How It Always Is Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250088550
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - January 24th, 2017

This is how a family keeps a secret and how that secret ends up keeping them.
This is how a family lives happily ever after until happily ever after becomes complicated.
This is how children change and then change the world.


Fredrik Backman - Beartown

TICKETS REQUIRED

Join us for an evening with best-selling author of the Man Called Ove Fredrik Backman in conversation with Nicole Brodeur of the Seattle Times. Backman discusses his new novel Beartown.

Tickets and books are available Tuesday, April 25th.   Each copy of Beartown includes two tickets, tickets are required for entry and seating is first come first served.

Beartown Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781501160769
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - April 25th, 2017

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove returns with a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream--and the price required to make it come true.


Daniela Lais - Vegan on the Go

Create delicious vegan meals quickly with this handy on-the-go recipe book that makes eating away from home fun and easy.

Eat vegan anytime, anywhere with Vegan on the Go. With over 100 nutritious recipes and healthy lunch ideas, your desk lunch will never be sad again. Eat vegan snacks, soups, salads, sandwiches, hearty mains, and desserts with meals created by vegan authors Jérôme Eckmeier and Daniela Lais.

Vegan on the Go: Fast, Easy, Affordable Anytime, Anywhere Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781465461834
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley) - May 9th, 2017

Create delicious vegan meals quickly with this handy on-the-go recipe book that makes eating away from home fun and easy.


Erin Pringle - The Whole World at Once

Set against a backdrop of small towns and hard-working communities in middle America, The Whole World at Once is a collection of intense stories about the experience of loss. Pringle weaves together spellbinding tales amidst shadowed and foreboding physical and emotional landscapes where each of the characters is in motion against her surroundings, and each is as likely as the next to be traveling with a ghost.

The Whole World at Once: Stories Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781943665570
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Vandalia Press - May 1st, 2017

The Floating Order Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781906120429
Availability: May not be available. Please call (206) 366-3333 for info.
Published: Two Ravens Press - June 12th, 2009

The Floating Order is a unique and innovative collection of stories. Erin Pringle's world is filled with the dreamlike, nightmarish narratives of children: children in danger, children at the mercy of their parents, children in all kinds of trouble. Children who continually rise, return, and haunt the pages.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Third Place Books