Third Place Books

Inside the Third Place Books store.

The Kind Mama by Alicia Silverstone

We are pleased to welcome Alicia Silverstone with her latest book The Kind Mama.  Books and Tickets go on-sale 4/15/14.  Signing line ticket required, receive your complimentary ticket with the purchase of The Kind Mama at Third Place Books.

Please check back for further details.

 

The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginn Cover Image
By Alicia Silverstone, Amy Neunsinger (Photographer)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781623360405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Rodale Books - April 15th, 2014

When did making babies get to be so hard? Infertility is on the rise globally, affecting as many as one in six couples. But instead of considering diet and lifestyle factors, doctors pump their patients full of expensive and invasive fertility treatments.


TPB Literary Book Club - Saint Monkey

Set in Eastern Kentucky in the 1950s, this coming-of-age novel chronicles the lives of two young girls raised in hardship, separated by fortune, and reunited through tragedy. The girlhood friends drift apart in high school, and when Audrey leaves home to work as a musician in Harlem, Caroline feels betrayed, her dreams of Hollywood stifled by domestic duties. When they are later reunited, both have longed for each other's company but simmered with unspoken resentments.

Saint Monkey Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393350821
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 2nd, 2015

Fourteen-year-old Audrey Martin, with her Poindexter glasses and her head humming the 3/4 meter of gospel music, knows she ll never get out of Kentucky but when her fingers touch the piano keys, the whole church trembles. Her best friend, Caroline, daydreams about Hollywood stardom, but both girls feel destined to languish in a slow-moving stopover town in Montgomery County.


Good Knits Book Club - His Majesty's Hope

Join us to knit or crochet while we discuss His Majesty's Hope, in which whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope embarks on a clandestine mission behind World War II enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

His Majesty's Hope Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345536730
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Bantam - May 14th, 2013

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.


Good Knits Book Club - Bossypants

Join us to knit or crochet while we discuss Bossypants, the hilarious memoir by comedian Tina Fey. Bring your own project or help us reach our goal of providing 200 hats for the homeless in December. New to knitting?

Bossypants Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316056878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - January 3rd, 2012

Before Liz Lemon, before "Weekend Update," before "Sarah Palin," Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.
She has seen both these dreams come true.


TPB Literary Book Club - Did You Ever Have a Family

In the wake of a family tragedy, alone and directionless, June Reid flees her small Connnecticut town and the memories it holds. Behind her, a community emerges, weaving a beautiful and surprising web of connections through shared heartbreak. Everyone touched by the tragedy is changed as truths about their near and far histories finally come to light.

Did You Ever Have a Family Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476798189
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 17th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD, MAN BOOKER PRIZE, PEN/ROBERT W. BINGHAM PRIZE, AND ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE AN ALA NOTABLE BOOK NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Amazon Library Journal Booklist NPR Kirkus Reviews Guardian St. Louis Post-Dispatch Google Play Kobo Literary Hub Powell's


My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker by Melissa Burch

My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781771611770
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Mosaic Press - March 2016

My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker is based on Melissa Burch's experiences as a war journalist for BBC, CBS, and other networks.


Good Knits Book Club - Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Join us to knit or crochet while we discuss Let's Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson, AKA The Bloggess. Full of hilarious anecdotes of work, marriage, parenting, mental illness, and taxidermy, this is a book like no other. Bring your own project or help us reach our goal of providing 200 hats for the homeless in December. New to knitting? Come at 6:30 and get a free lesson.

Our next meeting will be May 9, when we will discuss His Majesty's Hope by Susan MacNeal.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Berkley Publishing Group - March 5th, 2013

From the "New York Times "bestselling author of "Furiously Happy."..
When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.


TPB Literary Book Club - The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down

This award-winning work of narrative nonfiction explores the clash between a small county hospital in California and a refugee family from Laos over the care of Lia Lee, a Hmong child diagnosed with severe epilepsy. Lia's parents and her doctors both wanted what was best for Lia, but the lack of understanding between them led to tragedy.

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374533403
Availability: On Our Shelves Now At One Or More Of Our Stores
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 24th, 2012

"The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down "explores the clash between a small county hospital in California and a refugee family from Laos over the care of Lia Lee, a Hmong child diagnosed with severe epilepsy. Lia's parents and her doctors both wanted what was best for Lia, but the lack of understanding between them led to tragedy.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Third Place Books