The Wandering Falcon (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Wandering Falcon Cover Image
List Price: $16.00
Our Price: $15.00
(Save: $1.00 6%)
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
2 on hand, as of May 23 9:34am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


These linked tales set along the Pakistan/Afghan border are unlike anything else you have read about that region. They offer a generous and moving portrait of a little understood way of life. This is the kind of fiction that moves beyond terms like "great literature" and moves onto terms like "essential" and "necessary."

— From Robert

October 2011 Indie Next List


“These linked tales set along the border between Pakistan and Afghanistan are unlike anything else you have read about the region. They offer a generous and moving portrait of a little understood way of life. This is the kind of fiction that moves beyond terms like 'great literature' and ventures on to terms like 'essential' and 'necessary.'”
— Robert Sindelar, Third Place Books, Lake Forest Park, WA

Description


For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.
In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels -- the Federally Administered Tribal Area -- has become a political quagmire known for terrorism and inaccessibility. Yet in these pages, eighty-year-old debut author Jamil Ahmad lyrically and insightfully reveals the people who populate those lands, their tribes and traditions, and their older, timeless ways in the face of sometimes ruthless modernity. This story is an essential glimpse into a hidden world, one that has enormous geopolitical significance today and still remains largely a mystery to us.
Jamil Ahmad is a storyteller in the classic sense -- there is an authenticity and wisdom to his writing that harkens back to another time. The Wandering Falcon reminds us why we read and how vital fiction is in opening new worlds to our imagination and understanding.

About the Author


Jamil Ahmad was born in 1930 and died in 2014. He joined the Civil Service of Pakistan in 1954 and served mainly in the Frontier Province and Baluchistan. He was also development commissioner for the Frontier and chairman of the Tribal Development Corporation, and was posted as minister in Pakistan's embassy in Kabul at a critical time, before and during the Soviet occupation of Afghanistan. He lives in Islamabad with his wife, Helga Ahmad, a nationally recognized environmentalist and social worker. This is his first book.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781594486166
ISBN-10: 1594486166
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2012
Pages: 243
Language: English